Guard Ian Avirtue

Ian Avirtue

My name is Guard Ian Avirtue, and I am a fully professed member of the Russian River Sisters.


I always loved the Sisters when I saw them in San Francisco, from the first moment I saw them in the late 70s/early 80s. I worked on the Sonoma County Pride Committee with Sister Scarlet Billows and the late Postulant Guard Den of Joy in 2008-2009, and realized that there were Sisters in Sonoma County! Who knew?!?! I attended a bingo in March of 2009, and knew I wanted to be a part of this fabulous family. The next month, April 2009, I aspired to join. I took my time, and in April 2011, I became a fully professed member.


My first Mother was Sister Ida Claire, and my second mother was Sister Coppah Feel. My grandmother is Sister Vanna T Faire, my great-grandmother is Sister Frances A Sissy, and my great-great-grandmother is Sister Sparkle Plenty.


I enjoy my role in the Order as the official spanker, and I am a professional.


Yes, I do my own make-up, and it is symbolic.
The 3 tears on my left cheek are for the 3 partners I have lost (to early death - Rose at age 37, Kris at age 43, and Jeremiah at age 45).
The kiss mark on my right cheek is for innocence.
The mask is in the model of Guard Trouser Mouse, one of the founders of the Russian River Order.
The white, black, blue, and red are the colors of the leather community, and are usually the only colors I use.


I am proud to be a member of the Russian River Sisters, and am pleased to have our logo tattoo-ed on my left inner forearm. This is just one of 9 or so tattoos I have.


As my secular self, I am an introvert. I tend to like dogs more than people. I will always try to help someone who has not had some of the benefits that others have had. I fight for social justice, both as Ian and as my secular self.


My wife, Jacqueline, is Saint I Didn't Sign Up For This, who did sign up for this when she married me! She is an educator, advocate, and peer counselor in our LGBTQQIA+ community, volunteering between 12-20 hours per week. I am very proud of her, and how she gives back to our community.


I live in Santa Rosa, and my wife and I have 2 rescue dogs who are both tri-pods. We also have a cat, and a turtle, both of which have 4 working legs. Together we have 3 children, 11 grandchildren, and 4 great-grandchildren, all of whom have all their appendages..